2009 ARC Reading Challenge

December 19, 2008 at 10:20 am | Posted in Books, My Life with Books, Reading | 10 Comments
Tags: ,

So Many Precious Books, So Little Time is sponsoring a reading challenge specifically for ARCs.  This is right up my ally since I’ve been trying to make my pile more manageable over the past couple of months.

arc-reading-challenge

Here are the rules:

1. To sign up, leave a comment (here) and a direct link to your blog post about this challenge that includes your list from rule #2.

2.  List all of the ARC’s that you have to read right now.  Then throughout the year, you must continue updating that list as you receive more ARC’s.  (This is important). You should also strike out the ones that you finish.

3 a.  All of us who have or will have more than 12 ARC’s must read and review 12.
3 b.  All of us who have or will have less than 12 ARC’s must read all of the ARC’s we have.  Note, that if you have 11 ARC’s and then receive a 12th one you will be bumped up to category a.

4.  You don’t have to make a list of which ARC’s you plan to read, but you can if you want.

5. Crossovers with other challenges are allowed and Audio-books are allowed as long as they are ARC’s.

6. Read the books and review them on your blog. If you don’t have a blog, you can post your review on sites like Powells, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, etc. Leave a comment on this post with a link to each of your reviews.

7. Please subscribe to my blog, as I will be posting updates to the challenge periodically.

8. Enjoy!

Note of clarification:  The term ARC is used loosely. Anything sent from a publisher or author is an ARC for this challenge because they are sent to us with the expectation that we will review them.

Here are my ARCs:

a. Tomato Girl
b. The Triumph of Deborah
c. Kept
d. Revolutionary Road
e. The Second Elizabeth
f. Broad Street
g. Etta
h. The Sound of Butterflies
i. The Book Borrower
j. Annette Vallon
k. Bedlam South
l. The Sinners Guide to Confession
m. Death and the Devil
n. Soul Cather
0. The Grass Singing
p. The Firemaster’s Mistress
q. A Silent Ocean Away
r. With Violets
s. The Jewel Trader of Pegu
t. Mermaids in the Basement

That’s 20 books, so I’m definitely in the read 12 books category.  My plan is to read them in this order through the end of January.  After that, I’m going to mix them in with other books from my library.  If you have ARCs, I’d love it if you would join us!

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m joining this one too. I’ve got to get my list together first. Looks like a good list you’ve got.

  2. This one caught my eye when I spotted it yesterday. I just need to get my list together. I’m coveting some books on your list but my piles are big enough already. 🙂

  3. I can’t wait to see both of your lists, Darlene and Marcia. BTW, Marcia, which ones are you coveting? I’m very curious.

  4. FYI — Mermaids in the Basement comes out the first week in January in soft-cover — so that’s a plus to your readers when you do the review — it will be available for book club “perusers” who have a paper-back rule:)Good luck with all this reading! It motivates me to plow through my pile!

  5. Thanks for joining the challenge!

  6. Good 🙂 You are getting motivated by a challengomaniac [ me!] to join more challenges 😉

  7. Of course I’m right there with you. I’ve joined and after looking over your list I found a couple of reads for our HFLs bc – Soul Catcher (which I already suggested), The Second Elizabeth, The Firemaster’s Mistress and The Jewel Trader (?). Can you believe it I’m actually not coveting any – strange isn’t it?! Maybe I’m too overwhelmed with the piles at my house (LOL). Let’s see if we read those 3 or 4 of those you get them off your ARC challenge list and I get them off my ebook challenge list.

    Books are starting to act like bunnies in the Larsen household – multiply.

    I’ve read ‘Etta’ (loved it) which I’ll be giving away signed copies of in January at Up For Grabs and ‘Bedlam Love’ which I also thought was quite good.

    Happy Holidays!

  8. Hi – me again. Guess I should have reviewed the titles before commenting. You can scratch ‘The Second Elizabeth’ from our HFLs bc list. Talk about judging a book by it’s cover, oops title that is. 🙂

  9. I need to do this challenge! Jennifer, I’m envious of your manageable list, but I know you’ve worked very hard to get it to that point!!!

  10. Ok, I’m definitely in. I have a large pile.
    go to http://www.bookwormsdinner.blogspot.com to Sunday Salon post for today. I will post it there right now. Thanks.
    Wisteria


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

