2009 – The Year of Reading Challenges

December 31, 2008 at 10:10 am | Posted in Books | 9 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Before I take a look back at 2008, I’m looking forward to the year to come.  I did not have more than a vague notion of what I wanted to accomplish in 2008.  It was also somewhat of a turning point with my blog.  I started it as a means to chronicle my goal of reading 52 books in 2007.  With no clear vision and with ARCs starting to pour in, my idea of reading 12 tomes did not get farther than a couple hundred pages into Anna Karenina.  This year is going to be different.

Now that my ARCs are more under control, I’m making 2009 my year of reading challenges.

bookawardsdraft2small

Book Award Challenge II:  I joined this challenge earlier this year.  I haven’t really gotten started with it, but there is still time to complete this challenge.  I have really wonderful books waiting for me.

warthrugen_button21

War Through the Generations:  I joined this challenge as soon as I read Serena and Anna’s announcement.  This year the focus is WWII and I’ve challenged myself to read 6 books this year that focus on that.  I may end up reading more, but I didn’t want to over extend myself.  See, I have learned much from my ARC crisis this year. 🙂

arc-reading-challenge

ARC Reading Challenge:  Speaking of learning from my ARC crisis, I don’t want to get back into that place again.  I joined this challenge because it was definitely for me.  I am going to read at least one ARC per month in 2009.

deweys_books1

Dewey’s Reading Challenge:  Today I am officially joining Dewey’s Books Reading Challenge.  I am going to read one of the books Dewey reviewed throughout the life of her wonderful blog, The Hidden Side of the Leaf.  Here are the books I selected by year:

2003 ~ Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer
2004 ~ Broken for You by Stephanie Kallos
2005 ~ Old School by Tobias Wolff
2006 ~ Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
2007 ~ Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
2008 ~ Thirteen Moons by Charles Frazier

So, 2009 is shaping up to be a great reading year.  I’ll have some award winning books, some books about WWII, some of Dewey’s books, and maintaining control of my ARCS (which 7 to 8 times out of 10 are good books).  I’m looking forward to what lies ahead.

What are your reading plans for 2009?

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great list of Challenges! I joined 17(???) of them this year, and that will be my focus. They’re pretty broad, and most of them I can decide on books as I go along, so I won’t be tied into anything in particular. I also want to try more short stories and poetry this year.

    I know what you mean about ARCs. They’re such fun to get, but they take over your life quickly! I’m cutting waaayyy back on those in the coming year and reading more according to my mood of the moment.

    Good luck with your goals, and Happy New Year!!
    Lezlie

  2. Good luck with the challenges. I’m in the Book Awards II Challenge as well and haven’t made much progress. I’ve kind of decided that I’m not cut out for challenges. Happy New Year!

  3. That’s a great list of challenges! I’ve only joined a few. I haven’t done much with the ones I participate in and I’m not sure why. I think, like bermudaonion, that challenges aren’t really for me, even if I pick the best books for them.

    Good luck with your challenges and Happy New Year!

  4. Happy New Year!

    I’ll be seeing you at the ARC Challenge. January is ARC Reading Month is hosted by Callist at SMS Book Reviews. It’s not challenge just a pledge of sorts to work your way through your ARC pile in January. The direct link is here.

    I’m also participating in eBook Challenge, New Author Challenge (this might be one you’d enjoy), Raved-About Reads (perpetual), and finally the ’09 Pub Challenge. Whew! that should take care of the year for me.

  5. Happy New Year LH!!! So far I’m only in three challenges: 100+ Reading Challenge, Outlander 2009 Challenge and The Pub Challenge. I almost made it to 50 books this year, so the 100+ is my toughy!

  6. This looks like a great mix of challenges, Jennifer. I’m definitely doing the Book Awards Challenge, since I really want to read more award winning books. Here’s to a great year of reading and everything else!

  7. I’m looking forward to the coming year as well. Just a few short hours away! I hope to participate in more challenges this year as well–and actually stick to them. I’m especially looking forward to the War Through Generations Challenge and the ARC Challenge.

    I do hope you enjoy Everything is Illuminated and Broken for You as much as I did. They are among my favorites.

    I hope you have a wonderful New Year!

  8. Happy New Year, Jennifer!

    I bow out of the Man Booker Challenge with just one book short because I couldn’t get into neither of the remaining selections. I’m going to be more cautious with reading challenges this year. I might chime along and pick up a few books but probably won’t overdo it. I like to be spontaneous. 🙂

    In 2009 I’ll focus on relating my reading and writing experiences through blogging. Until I started blogging, both reading and writing have been very private, keeping to myself in the Moleskine notebook. Blogging forces me to make the connection between my random skeins of thoughts into making them coherent and readable to other readers.

    I plan to tackle a few epic chunksters this year like Les Miserables and Gone with the Wind. I try to find at least one reading partner to read these giants. I’m glad you’ll be my reading partner for GWTW. I need to set up a tentative schedule!
    I am looking forward to it, Matt!

  9. good luck with all the challenges and thanks for signing up for the WWII challenge. We appreciate it. Its going to be a great year of books.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

