25811 ~ A Look Back at 2008

January 3, 2009 at 1:44 pm | Posted in Books, LIfe, Reading | 18 Comments
Tags: , ,

After manually compiling the books I read last year, I’ve come up with the following statistics:

The Basics

Total Books Read: 78 (24 more than 2007)
Total Pages Read: 25811 (4800 more than 2007)
Average Number of Pages: 331 (54 less than 2007)

By Category:

Total Books Loved: 23
Total Books Liked: 34
Total Books Neutral: 15
Total Books Irritating: 3
Total Books Hated: 3

Literate Housewife’s Top 10 Books Read in 2008

Of the 23 books I loved last year, I’ve chosen the following as my favorites (displayed in no particular order):

water Gardens of Water by Alan Drew
cover-of-witchs-trinity-pb The Witch’s Trinity by Erika Mailman

lobster Last Night at the Lobster by Stewart O’Nan

cover-of-the-last-queen The Last Queen by C. W. Gortner

cover-of-the-seamstress The Seamstress by Frances De Pontes Peebles

gargolye The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson

cover-of-capote-in-kansas Capote in Kansas by Kim Powers
cover-of-reluctant-widow The Reluctant Widow by Georgette Heyer

cover-of-the-front-porch-prophet The Front Porch Prophet by Raymond L. Atkins

cover-of-finding-nouf Finding Nouf by Zoe Ferraris

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m impressed that you’re able to squeeze in that much reading time with 2 beautiful girls and a job. It looks like you had a great year.

  2. I haven’t read any of your top ten – I guess I have even more reading ahead of me! I’m amazed at the amount of good books out there, and have no idea how I’m going to fit them all in.

  3. Hooray for Finding Nouf! I plan to read The Seamstress and Gardens of Water so I’m glad you liked them.

    The 4800 more pages seem a huge difference but if you break it down, it’s about 13 more pages a day. It’s an accomplishment.

  4. It looks like you had a great reading year. I hope to eventually read many of your favorites. I’ll definitely be getting to the Gargoyle this year.

  5. I loved the Last Queen and the Relunctant Widow and just recently purchased Last Night at the Lobster (along with about 5 other O’Nan books) I want to read Finding Nouf.

  6. I agree with The Last Queen! And I tried to buy The Front Porch Prophet last week with one of my lovely Christmas gift cards…but Borders didn’t have it. Hmmph!

  7. Jennifer,
    So impressed with your output. You are a reading demon! And thanks for the continuing generous support of The Witch’s Trinity.

    I just finished The Last Queen and loved it too.

    Happy new year and I hope this year brings more and more wonderful books to your shelf!
    Erika

  8. Good Job!! Of the books on your list, I’ve only read ‘Last Night at the Lobster’. There’s a few on your list that I’ve been wanting to read, so I’m glad you liked them so much! Great post!

  9. Oooo another lover of Last Night at the Lobster! I don’t know why I enjoyed that book so much, but I really did! The Last Queen was awesome, too. Great list, and your stats are very impressive!

  10. Ha – loved the different categories, especially the “irritating” one! Made me laugh.

    I’m also tagging you for the Butterfly Award!

  11. Of your top books, I’ve only read “Last Night at the Lobster.” I really liked it, too.

  12. You had a good year Jennifer. I just can’t pick favorites-I liked so many. Happy REading in 2009 and all the best for you and your family!

  13. I, too, love your rating system. Ha! Your fave list reminds me of a few titles there I want to read. Hope you are having a very Happy New Year!

  14. You’ve been tagged for an award my dear!

    http://passagestothepast.blogspot.com/2009/01/great-buddy-award.html

  15. Jennifer, I left you an award on my blog today. Check it out.

  16. Great list. I’m glad you liked Last Night at the Lobster, a little gem. I grew up in New Britain, where the story is set, and I can tell you that O’Nan perfectly captured the despair and the lasting pride of workmanship in the once-thriving industrial city. Just picture Roanoke without Norfolk Southern and you’ll get the idea.

  17. thank you thank you thank you for your top 10 list! I’m taking it to B&N. With a gift card. Excellent!

  18. The Front Porch Prophet sounds wonderful – I just added it to my to read shelf. Thanks for the recommendation!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

