Tuesday Thingers ~ Vacation Time

July 8, 2008 at 10:17 am | Posted in Books, LIfe, Reading | 6 Comments
Tags: , ,

Since we’re past the Fourth of July and the summer season has officially started, what are your plans for the summer? Vacations, trips? Trips that involve reading? Reading plans? If you’re going somewhere, do you do any reading to prepare? Do you read local literature as part of your trip? Have you thought about using the LT Local feature to help plan your book-buying?

We took our main vacation this year in May. We went to the Smokey Mountains and split our time there between my family and staying at a chalet with my best friends in the world, who just happen to be married and have children whose ages fall smack dab in the middle of Emma and Allison. I brought several books with me. I finished The Lady Elizabeth, Last Night at the Lobster, and Trauma during my vacation. From this point forward, I don’t intend to take any more vacations this year. Since Emma starts kindergarten in less than two months (how can that be???), I am saving the rest of my time for Christmas and her spring break. My vacation time runs 4/23 – 4/22, which makes things tricky from a scheduling stand point.

I also read a lot when I travel out of town on business. Last month I spent five nights in Las Vegas, got a lot of reading done (Songs for the Missing, Mrs. Lieutenant, Have I Got a Guy for You, and Matrimony). I also met my first author, Lander Marks. It might not have been a vacation in the truest sense, but it was a touch of fantasy land for this reader.

I’ve never thought of reading local literature during a vacation, but it sounds like a fabulous idea! I’ll definitely be checking out LT Local whenever I travel, which will most likely be for work. I’ll be heading to Boston for the first time at the end of October. I’m sure that there will be a great deal of options for me while I’m there.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I didn’t really care much for Songs for the Missing. I felt the POV switching was disorienting and hard to follow.

    Is Emma your oldest? My youngest is 9 and going into the 4th grade. Head Start for her was my sniffle year, and I volunteer a lot at school, so I never really had that, “My BABY’s gone to SCHOOL!” fit.

  2. you read a ton while on vacation…that is a dream for me too…but I would love for it to be in the wilderness, in the middle of no where with many good books.

  3. Smokey mountains sound cool 🙂 Finishing four books on vacation is pretty impressive!

  4. I think the POV switching is something that’s either going to work or not work for the reader. There won’t be many in-between opinions on that. Yes, Emma is my oldest and I know that she’s been in daycare since she was 6 weeks old, but I get a little verklempt thinking about kindergarten.

    We did a lot of camping when I was a kid, but my husband isn’t necessarily outdoorsy. I can’t wait to find out what you’ll read on vacation.

    The Smokey mountains were really nice. I’d love to go back there sometime.

  5. I’m impressed you were able to get so much reading done in Vegas–there’s so much to see there! I keep hearing wonderful things about Matrimony and think I’ll have to add it to my list. I just read an ARC of the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and it was lovely. Review is posted, if you’re interested. Happy reading!

  6. readerville, the amount of reading I got done in Vegas was partly due to the company and partly because it was my third trip out there.


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.