BBAW: Book Blog Awards & Philippa Gregory Scavenger Hunt

September 12, 2008 at 3:47 pm | Posted in Books, Historical Fiction, LIfe, Philippa Gregory, Reading | 7 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

For updates on this Scavenger Hunt:

Please head over here.  I’ve added the number of prizes.

_____________

Next week will be a busy week here at The Literate Housewife Review:

  • I’ll be hosting the award for Book Blog Readers.  I announced this contest earlier this week.  Be sure to check this out and send me your entry before it’s too late!  I’ve gotten a huge response.  It’s going to be so difficult to narrow it down to 10!
  • I’ll be hosting some awards ceremonies for the following wonderful categories:  Community Builder, Author, Historical, and Fantasy.  I’ll be posting more about this later on tonight.
  • Visiting all of the other blogs and participating in the contests.  I am so excited about the whole thing and wish I could take the week off of work. 🙂

Still, that just doesn’t seem like quite enough.  I need to do one more thing, I just can’t help myself.  As my readers know, I’m a huge Philippa Gregory fan.  I’m anxiously awaiting the publication of The Other Queen on Tuesday the 16th.

On the 27th, my husband is taking me to DC to meet her in person (!!!!!) at the National Book Festival.  With Book Blogger Appreciation Week to top it all off, this is so my month!  So, to bring two of my passions together, I’m going to host a Philippa Gregory Scavenger Hunt beginning Sunday, September 15.  Here are the details:

Between now and midnight EST on Sunday, I will be adding a graphic of my favorite historical fiction author in 10 places on my blog.  The first person to email me and correctly identify each place I’ve added her photo will win.  If no one correctly identifies all of the posts by 5pm EST on Tuesday, September 16, the winner will be the person who has sent me an email with the most correct locations.  If there is a tie, I’ll use Randomizer to select the winner.  So, even if you can’t find all of her pictures, submit your entry!

So, what might you get for prowling around my blog looking for Philippa?  How about a copy of The Other Queen?  I won’t be able to send you the book until the 29th, though.  I hope you don’t mind.  You see, unless disaster strikes and I can’t make it to DC, I will be bringing this copy of the book with me to have it signed to you by Philippa!  What do you think?  You’re coming back on Sunday, aren’t you? 😉

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great contest! And how exciting that you will get to meet Philippa Gregory!! I have a review of “The Other Queen” up at Books ‘N Border Collies, if you or your readers are interested in a preview.

    Lezlie
    Books ‘N Border Collies

  2. PS I just posted about your giveaway at Books ‘N Border Collies. I hope you get lots of entries!!

    Lezlie

  3. I love Philippa Gregory as well! I’ll be checking back in for this contest. I’ve also pimped you on my site! Check it out:
    Bobbi’s Book Nook>

  4. Jennifer, what a fun contest!

    I still can’t believe you actually get to meet her. Post pictures, okay?!?!

  5. Shana, I will most definitely be posting pictures!

  6. Lezlie and Bobbi, thank you so much for posting about it! I really appreciate it!

  7. Philippa Gregory has turned her knack for historical fiction a lesser known target: Mary, Queen of Scots. The Other Queen tells the story of Queen Elizabeth’s cousin and rightful heir to the throne upon which Elizabeth sat.

    Gregory’s newest novel isn’t cut from exactly the same cloth as her previous works. Rather than taking place at royal court, as The Other Boleyn Girl and The Queen’s Fool did, The Other Queen takes place away from court, at a country house. The story is told from the point of view of the Queen of Scots, being held against her will in England after she fled insurrection in her country. Her story alternates with the narratives of the husband and wife who host — and restrain — her. They bring differing perspectives of the old noble England as well as the newly-minted Protestant wealthy class.

    Many of Gregory’s trademark touches are present in The Other Queen, including a tendency towards taking romantic liberties with her characters. That’s likely what makes her books so enjoyable, and The Other Queen does not disappoint.


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.